A conference by Thomson Reuters Foundation

Previous Speakers

Ala'a Shehabi

British-born Bahraini lecturer, writer and activist

Alaa Murabit

Founder, The Voice of Libyan Women

Amira Yahyaoui

Human rights activist and President, Al Bawsala

Anish Kapoor


Ann Cotton

Founder and President, Camfed International

Anne Gallagher

Independent scholar and legal adviser

Anuradha Koirala

Founder and Executive Director, Maiti Nepal

Ayaan Hirsi Ali

Author and Founder of the AHA Foundation

Benjamin Skinner

Co-Founder and Sr. Vice President, Tau Investment Management

Bennett Freeman

Senior Vice President, Sustainability Research and Policy, Calvert

Bradley Myles

CEO and Director, Polaris Project

Cecilia Flores-Oebanda

Founding President and Executive Director, Visayan Forum Foundation

You told me this conference was about action, and you were right. You pulled together something remarkable.

Michael Brosowski Founder & CEO, Blue Dragon Children’s Foundation

Christian Boudreau

Founder, Hayat Canada Family Support

Christopher White

Program manager, U.S. Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency

Christy Turlington Burns

Founder, Every Mother Counts, filmmaker, author, model

Cyrus R. Vance, Jr.

District Attorney, New York County

David Batstone

President and Co-Founder, Not For Sale; CEO, Dignitá

Deeyah Khan

Documentary film director and human rights activist

Dr. Sima Samar

Chairperson of the Afghan Independent Human Rights Commission (AIHRC)

Duncan Jepson

Founder, Liberty Asia

Edna Adan

Former Foreign Affairs Minister, Somaliland; Founder, Edna Adan Univ. Hospital

Emma Bonino

Former Italian Foreign Minister

Eva Kail

Gender expert, Urban Planning Group, City of Vienna

Hazel Thompson

Award-winning photojournalist

Henriette Kolb

Head of the Gender Secretariat, International Finance Corporation

James Kofi Annan

President, Challenging Heights

Jamie Drummond

Co-founder and Executive director, ONE

Jean Baderschneider

CEO, Global Fund to End Slavery

Kailash Satyarthi

Nobel Peace Prize Winner; Chairperson, Global March Against Child Labour

Kalpana Viswanath

Co-founder, Safetipin (India)

Kamran Azim

Chief operating officer, Kashf Foundation

Karen Friedman Agnifilo

Chief Assistant District Attorney, New York County District Attorney's Office

Karina de Vega

Novelist, social worker, activist and human trafficking survivor

Kendis Paris

Executive director, Truckers against trafficking

Kevin Bales

Co-founder, Free the Slaves

Kevin Hyland

UK Independent Anti-Slavery Commissioner

Laura Bates

Founder, Everyday Sexism Project

Lila Ibrahim

Chief Business Officer, Coursera

Livia Firth

Creative Director, Eco-Age and Founder of the Green Carpet Challenge

Liz Kellison

Deputy director, Financial Services for the Poor, Gates Foundation

Louise Nicholls

Head of Responsible Sourcing, Marks & Spencer

Mabel van Oranje

Initiator and Chair, Girls Not Brides

Madeleine Rees

Secretary General, Women's International League for Peace and Freedom

Manal al-Sharif

Women's rights activist

Marcela Loaiza

Survivor of sex trafficking and founder, La Fundación Marcela Loaiza

Mariane Pearl

Journalist, author and Managing Editor of Chime for Change

Mark Goldring

Chief Executive, OXFAM

Martina Vandenberg

Founder and President, The Human Trafficking Pro Bono Legal Center

Mary Ellen Iskenderian

President and CEO, Women’s World Banking

Matt Friedman

Regional Project Manager, UNIAP

Melanne Verveer

U.S Ambassador-at-Large for Global Women's Issues

Mona Eltahawy

Award-winning columnist

Muhammad Yunus

Nobel Peace Prize Winner

Nancy Northup

President and CEO, Center for Reproductive Rights

Nick Grono

President and CEO, The Freedom Fund

Pascale Dubois

Chief Suspension and Debarment Officer, World Bank

Peter Rabley

Director, Investments, Omidyar Network

Priti Patel

Deputy director and HIV Programme Manager, Southern Africa Litigation Centre

Randy Newcomb

President and CEO, Humanity United

Renato Bignami

Labour Inspector, Programme for the Eradication of Slavery (Brazil)

Rosario Perez

President and Chief Executive Officer, Pro Mujer

Shereen El Feki

Journalist, author and gender expert

Shirin Ebadi

Nobel Peace Prize Winner

Simon Constantine

Head of Ethical Buying, Head Perfumer at Lush

Sir Suma Chakrabarti

President, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)

Theresa May

Secretary of State for the Home Department, UK

Sign up for our newsletter

Contact us

Donna Oliver

Event Manager

+44 207 542 1170


Annya Schneider

Speakers and Programme

+44 207 542 9211


Monika Holc


+44 207 542 1170


Lauren Ottulich

Scholarships and Media

+1 646 223 5828


Chantal Bonitto


+1 646 223 7664