Maintenance. We are currently updating the site. Please check back shortly

Aung San Suu Kyi

Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

Aung San Suu Kyi, opposition leader and democracy campaigner in Myanmar, is the winner of the 1991 Nobel Prize for Peace for her non-violent struggle for democracy and human rights. She was released in November 2010 after spending most of the previous 21 years under house arrest. In April 2012, she was elected to parliament after she and her fellow National League for Democracy candidates won a landslide victory. She has received the Rafto prize (1990), the International Simon Bolivar Prize (1992) and the Jawaharlal Nehru Award (1993), among other accolades. In 2008, she received the US Congressional Gold Medal.